Punahou Students Selected for Presidential Scholars Program

The Presidential Scholars Program, established in 1964, is a prestigious national recognition initiative that honors exceptional high school graduates. Each year, the program selects candidates based on their outstanding SAT or ACT scores, followed by a comprehensive evaluation process involving essays, self-assessments and academic transcripts. Of the approximately 4,000 students identified nationwide, around 650 are chosen as semifinalists. Ultimately, up to 161 scholars are named, including two from each state, with additional honorees in the arts and career and technical education fields.


This year, 27 students from Punahou are among the candidates for the Presidential Scholars Program, representing 27% of Hawai‘i’s 99 nominees. Among these students, Irene Zhong ’24 has the distinct honor of being named both a Presidential Scholar in the Arts candidate as well as a Presidential Scholar candidate. The selected students are currently preparing for the next phase of the selection process, with guidance and support from the School.

Congratulations to the Presidential Scholars candidates from the Class of 2024: First row from left: Ian Kuo, Lixin Yan, Ivey Zhong, Iris Xu, Atropa Choi, Irene Zhong, Ava Pakravan, Narissa Chen. Second row from left: Chasen Matsuoka, Mitchell Atebara, Sean Jung, Akira Iwata, Connor Davidson, Reina Gammarino, Esther Chan, Vivian Tu, Maria Weldon. Third row from left: Conrad Cao, Benny Chung, Elise Wong, Calista Yap, Raina Lun, Ella Chong, Henry Reppun, Albert Zheng. Not pictured: Gaby Ewart, Gigi Lee.

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.