Twenty-four Seniors Selected as National Merit Semifinalists

Twenty-four Punahou seniors were among 63 Hawai‘i high school seniors selected as 2022 National Merit Semifinalists for their outstanding academic ability and potential for collegiate success.

Punahou’s semifinalists include Joshua Chang, Michael Chang, Anthony Chen, Noah Chung, Joh Demura-Devore, Joshua Dutton, Ye Won Ham, Marshall Kim, Cable Kronen, Remi Kuba, Jason Kwak, Giovanni Loia, Carson Loughridge, Mia Mansfield, Ethan Nagasako, Bao Nguyen, Sascha Pakravan, Kainoa Paul, Jamie Seu, Helen Shanefield, Madison Suh, Annie Wang, Mackenzie Watts and Alexander Yueh.

Their high-ranking qualifying test scores put them among the top 1% of high school seniors nationwide. As semifinalists, students may apply to become a finalist in the program, with a chance to earn a scholarship. 

“This is a great accomplishment and something that you all should be really proud of,” President Mike Latham ’86 said to Punahou’s semifinalists. “It’s a nice reflection of the work, energy, focus and dedication that you’ve brought to Punahou over time. It is a significant honor.”

Nationwide, approximately 16,000 semifinalists were selected in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, with an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring. 

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.